top of page

Routine

Whether you know it or not, whether it be good or bad, everybody has a routine.

We wake up, put our feet on the floor, and go about our day. And I bet if you write it down, there's very little that changes from one day to the next. And when it comes to changes to our routine our initial reaction is to fight it.



I recently got a new job. A sideways move into another department, which meant I got a new shift pattern. Before, I had every other weekend, and every Tuesday off, and I worked 05:30-13:30 every other day of the week. And I couldn't think of anything worse than doing an afternoon shift. I avoided them at any cost. Not finishing at 13:30 seemed impossible.

Until my first evening.

I didn't need to set my alarm, which meant I got a good nights sleep. Never again will I forget the importance of sleep. I was able to study in the morning, with a fresh mind, not tainted by an 8 hour shift. I got in a decent gym session for the first time in months. And then I battered into my work, and was home for 21:30. All in all, it was a good day, and if i hadn't been made to to a back shift, I would never have realized it.


See, routine is important. But it's important to see whether your routine is working for you, or against you. In my case, it was working against me. Changing it wasn't my choice, but it worked. It's made me happier, healthier, fitter and stronger.


 

Comentários


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page