top of page

My thoughts on getting married in this day and age. What does it all mean?

Less than two weeks to go now before I get married. And I have to say, I'm not freaking out as much as I thought I would be. Not freaking out at all actually.

The freak out moment for me came when I got a mortgage. That's when I became tied down to the one place.

This whole marriage thing, is more of a celebration.

Nothing's going to change right?


In reality, there isn't really much to change. Marriage doesn't mean the same as what it did 10 or 15 years ago. I was asked by my boss, why are we getting married. What does it mean?

I mean, what does it mean? Me and Emma have been together for over 6 years now, we've lived together for three years. We have a joint bank account, a mortguage and plan our lives around each other. We talk about the future, where we're going to end up, we talk about kids. Other than actually being married, we're pretty much married. So what does it mean to us? Or to anyone? We're not religious or spiritual, or believe that by not being married we're living in sin.. So why do it? Is it just an excuse to hae one massive party? We'll no. Not really.


This is something I've been thinking of a lot since getting engaged. I think it was my father who said to me its about declaring your love to the rest of the world. (maybe it wasnt my father. that doesnt sound like him.) But that doesnt really do it for me. I mean, who cares what the world thinks obout your relationship. The world probably doesn't care.

For me, I'm getting married not because it's what my parents thought was best, not because her parents wanted it (I think they're just grateful someone took her off their hands). I didn't even do it because she wanted to get married.

I did it because it's what I wanted to do. Because getting married says to me that we're going to be together forever. That we're both on one team, and no matter what comes our way, no matter where we end up, we'll always have each others backs.


It also means I get to threaten her with a whole bunch of jokes that I may or may not throw into my speech.

 

Anyway. This is completely different to anything I've written before, so I hope you guys enjoyed it. If you did, then why not subscribe to my email list, or follow me on twitter and instagram.

Anyways, that's it for another few days at least.

Peace.

 

Commenti


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page