top of page

Training hard

I had a couple of weeks away from the gym, as I was 'as sick as a dog'.

That's a saying right?

It should be.


Anyways, I've been back at it all week, trying to catch up on my progress, because I have to be physically ready for my practical exams next week. A lot hinges on those exams, and I can't afford to fail. (Literally can't afford to, its like £100 for resits or some bullshit like that)


It took some time off to re-evaluate my workouts. There were parts that worked, and parts that didn’t, and I needed some time away to see these and adjust accordingly. Still working toward building that lean muscle, and the work in the gym is whats going to do that!


I’m thinking of this as practice for after I’m qualified (exams soon, feeling nervous).


Changing up your training every now and then is important for a few of reasons, but the main reason for change is to avoid boredom.

Sticking with the same workout day in day out can get boring. When we get bored, we get lazy. And when we get lazy, we don’t attack our workouts with the same ferocity, which will lead to plateaued results. And I know from experience, that there is nothing more demotivating that going to the gym three or four times a week and not progressing. Well you're not progressing because you're not working hard enough, because you're bored. Change your workout up, add in a few new exercises, work your body in a different way, and you'll be back on track in no time.


This is where having a coach/outside opinion comes in handy.

I know from my day job how to manage peoples performance, and how to tell whether they're getting bored and need a change. But I cant always see that in myself.

Similarly, I may not be able to see if I'm not using my gym time efficiently, but someone else might. So maybe throwing down £40 a session with a coach ain't such a bad idea, not if our fitness goals are important to us. It could actually be exactly what we need.


Most of training is being held accountable, answering to someone other than ourselves. Most of us need someone there, to push us, and to call us out when we're not putting the work in. But also someone who's going to teach us, who's going to take the time to show us where we might be going wrong. There's no point in training like an absolute maniac if we're going to injure ourselves.


 

Kommentare


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page