top of page

This may be the last post of my life...


...Because when Emma reads it, she may well kill me.

So this is going to be a little rantier than usual, but it's something that'[s really annoyed me

Me and the misses went away for the weekend, to the Scottish town of Pitlochry, and whilst the trip was relatively uneventful, there was one thing that happened I thought I could write about.

We traveled over on the Friday, spent all day Saturday there, and came home today. Close to the campsite was a mountain called Craig Varr. The walks approximately 5 km from start to finish, and climbs about 350 meters. Not particularly far or high, and could easily be done in an hour or so. Now, there were parts that were quite steep, and other parts that were rather boggy, but for the most part there was a clear and well worn path on sturdy ground.

Sounds boring right?

What is there to write about?

Well, let me tell you.

The pair of us set off in high spirits. The sun was shining, the wind was breezing (is that a way to describe the wind? It is now!) and the sky was clear. No sign of rain on the horizon for once (God damn Scotland and its god damn Scottish weather), yet fifteen minutes into the walk, before we had broken the treeline, my partner needed a rest.

She was knackard, pooped, ready to tap out.

Ok, so now I'm venturing into dangerous territory, and this is where I could end up in some trouble.

I know that I'm not the fittest person in the world, but there has to be a line somewhere right?

As a society we're getting fatter and fatter, slower and more sedentary, and it's becoming out of control. There are folks that don't look half bad, they get up, go to work, sit at their desk all day, go to a gym class once, maybe twice a week, walk to the corner shop on an evening, and believe that's enough to keep them fit and healthy, but when it comes to standing up out of a chair, running for the train, or walking up a flight of stairs, they're done. And the majority of these people think that this is ok, that it's the norm.

I'm not saying that I'm mister motivator, definitely plenty to work on regarding my own fitness, but if you're not able to climb off the sofa, or bring the shopping in without getting a little puffed, then you've got to make some changes to your lifestyle.

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page