top of page

Home vs gym workouts

Anyone who's read this blog for a while will know that I'm a massive advocate of 'home workouts'.

With a couple of resistance bands, a set of dumbbells, some space and a free half hour, there isn't much that you can't do.

I went through a phase during the summer whereby instead of paying for a gym membership each month, I'd buy a new piece of kit and train at home. It was brilliant. At the time, I was waking up at 02:30 to slog out a ten hour shift, and the gym I used didn't open for 2 hours by the time I'd finish. By the time I'd gone home, had something to eat and started watching TV, it was next to impossible to peel myself off of the couch and head to the gym. Training at home was the only real option. Either that or become obese.

I really enjoyed it. I was able to be creative with my workouts, find different ways to progress, and become all round fitter. (also you can drink beer at home, and they frown on that in the gym)

But there's only so far you can go without a gym, and I was starting to run out of space for the new kit I was amassing.

I moved jobs, got better hours and found a gym between my day job and house. I have to pass it to get home, and that makes all the difference.

See, I learned how to progress in different ways at home. Ways that didn't involve just increasing the weight. Now I can do all that, and increase the weights i'm using, so i'm getting all round fitter and stronger too.

Basically, when it comes to Home vs Gym based training,

the gym is probably better, but training at home can be bloody marvelous (especially in the back garden, with a beer, in the sun)

Comentarios


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page