top of page

The importance of sleep.

Updated: May 21, 2019

I was reading an article on sleep earlier.

As I said in one of my previous blog posts, I've recently changed shift pattern at the day job, and am now doing a mixture of late shifts and early shifts, rather than doing solely earlies, and the one thing I noticed right away, was that my mood, diet, motivation, will power and pretty much everything else was greatly improved when I did a late shift. Not because I was doing a late shift, but because I was getting a full night sleep.

There's a whole bunch of reasons why we need sleep.

It allows our bodies and our brains to repair and recharge.



People who sleep less, are more likely to be overweight.

Not my statement. From the article I read. Actually, if you want, you can read it here.

And in my own personal experience, this is true. When i'm tired, I eat anything that will give me a buzz, which is anything that is high in simple carbs (sugar) and super high in calories. And this is just to get me through the day. Then, obviously, I have a crap sleep. Probably due to all the sugar. So the next day, the cycle repeats.

Compare that with day after a full nights sleep. I stick to my calories, hit my protein target, and throw in a bloody good session at the gym. On top of all that, I study and remember every detail. I'm not craving that hit of energy to get me through the day. (I still drink coffee as if its going out of fashion, but at this point my blood is 90% caffeine anyway. I'm legitimately afraid to stop drinking coffee)


More sleep (Or the proper amount of sleep, as oversleeping can be detrimental too) can make you become more productive

Obviously, sleeping for 7-9 hours means you're 'switched off' for 7-9 hours, so you're ready for work, taking in new information, and putting your brain through its paces.

Think of it like this. After a workout you're tired. Then you get DOMS. Then you have to let your muscles rest and reset before working them again. Well that's what sleep is. Its getting over 'Brain DOMS (You heard that term here first). It's not only that with less sleep you're less productive, but you become increasingly less productive the longer you go without sleep. Why?

Still getting the same amount of hours sleep, but a whole hell of a lot more refreshed. Because waking up naturally means you're woken up when your body and mind wants it. Not when 'Chelsea Smile' starts blaring out of your phone from the other side of the room so that you have to actually get out of bed to turn it off.

(Absolute nightmare by the way)

I'm sure there's a more scientific way of explaining this, probably something to do with hormones, but what am I? A sleep doctor? No pal, I'm not.


And lastly,

Sleep can improve your immune function.

I always thought this, but its only in the research for this post that it was confirmed. Even with one nights no sleep, i'm sniveling, i'm sore, and I feel sick (could be because of all the extra caffeine) A sleep study (Found here) proved that missing even a small amount of sleep can have a huge detrimental affect on your bodies immune system.


Basically, get 7-9 hours of sleep, when you’re tired, and don’t over indulge on caffeine.

Or else.

Comentários


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page