top of page

Barriers to entry and home workouts



I recently stopped going to the gym.

Well not recently.

In March I visited the gym maybe 5 times?

Why?

Because I have a lot on. I have 40 hours of work (plus travel) I have college study, and now I have university study. Taking time out to travel to the gym, work out, and travel back was too much, plus the fact that I was knackard after work and study. I was able to cope, by stopping off at the gym on the way home from work, but then the gym closed during the day for a couple of hours, which meant I had to go home first.

It was the thought of having to get up off of the couch and drive to the gym that put me off. This is what is known as a barrier to entry.

Barriers to entry are things (which can come in many forms) that stop you going where you need to go.

The easiest way of describing this would be a set of roadworks that mean you cant drive along the road. In this case, you would take an alternate route (overcoming the barrier).

In my case, I had two options. Continue visiting the gym and putting in half a workout wasn't one of them.

I could find a new gym, but really the only other gyms around were commercial gyms that were too expensive and didn't inspire me (a gym needs to inspire you), or I could take the £30 i was paying every month, and instead of giving it to a gym, invest it in gym equipment. Instead of going out to a gym, I could build my very own in the back yard. And you know what?

Since doing that, I haven't missed a workout since.

Sure, there's still days when I cant be bothered, when I've had a bad day at work, or a bucket load of coursework to do, but after I get over that I get on with it. Even if its just a few press-ups and sit-ups (something frequently is better than nothing all the time). Which now means I'm able to put in a full workout, and I'm making heaps of progress (thank you centurion press-ups)



The point i'm trying to make is this: if you want to do something, but you're struggling, then figure out why. When you can figure out why you're struggling, you can figure out how to over come it. And that's the way you progress.



 


Kommentare


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page