top of page

Becoming harder to kill


Hi all, before we get started, I've got a WIP update for you all! I've started a new book. A dystopian, urban fantasy novel, set a thousand years from now in a world that looks nothing like our own. I'll be posting updates and snippets as and when i want to, keeping you all informed, and obviously getting you all worked up for the release date. I've just started the first draft, so we're a long way away from there right now, but if I keep on myself to produce content, it'll come quick!

If it isn't obvious to you all, I enjoy going to the gym. I go three times a week, and most of the time i make the right choices when it comes to food. But as with all fitness journeys, I hit a wall. there comes a point when if you keep doing what you're doing, without changing a single thing, you wont progress any further. Not just with your fitness. But with everything.

So, for the past eight or nine months (with a few exceptions) I've hit the gym three times a week, and I've eaten around 2100 kcal a day. and that's done me fine. I used to be fat, now i'm less fat. I used to be unfit. Now i'm slightly less unfit. But I've hit a wall. A plateau. If i dont change something, i wont progress any further.

So, I'm given two choices here.

Choice one: i can cut my Calories.

Eat less food.

Did you read that?

I could eat less food.

Do you see how stupid that sounds. So so stupid. I love food. I love cooking, i love eating, and i love creating new and exciting recipes. I could eat smaller portions? It'd save money sure. But then I'd be sad and hungry.

But OK, what could i cut out. the protein bars? yes, but they satisfy my sweet tooth, and they help me reach my protein goal. Eat more salad? sure, salads low in calories, and its coming up to summer. actually that ain't such a bad idea. OK, but salads seven days a week? No tar, no thank you, no way. That ain't going to fly with me pal!

Choice two: Work out more.

Do more you say? Yes.

OK, i go three times a week, there are seven days in a week. that means there are an extra four days i can go. Woa woa woa. Just hold your horses there. I'm not going an extra four days. I mean there's an extra four opportunities for me to go. So that's what i did. This week i decided to add an additional workout to my week. one extra day in the gym.

Why?

I enjoy going to the gym. I also enjoy food. So why would I eat less (something i enjoy) when i can go to the gym more (something i also enjoy). Sounded like a no brainer.

Right, so Monday i did my usual Monday routine. then on Thursday and Friday i'll do my usual routine. so that leaves Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Wednesday. well i Don't want to do three days on the trot so that rules out Saturday and Wednesday. the gyms closed on Sunday. so Tuesday. its my day off on Tuesday, so that works out pretty well.

This morning I did my first 'fourth day' and opted to go for a class. something different from my usual workouts. Circuit training.

Now until this point, I've considered myself to be fit. carrying a bit of extra fat sure, but fit. Oh boy how wrong could I be? It was a forty five minute class, but after the first fifteen minutes i was ready to heave. I wanted to quit so bad, wanted to walk right out of there, in a huff, probably throw something at the instructor on my way out too (if i had the strength... which i did not). But i didn't do any of that.

I took a sip of water, got my head down, and pushed through. And when i left, i felt fantastic! Not physically I must tell you. No. Physically I felt like I was going to die. But emotionally? I felt on top of the world. Unstoppable. So I decided to write about it.

I've recently started a Patron account, so if you like reading these posts, and want to support me then head on over by clicking HERE. Everything is appreciated, no matter how big or small.

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page