top of page

Take control back


The highest accolade in life used to be getting our drawing stuck on the fridge. It meant we were valued, that we had done something worth celebrating.

And then we started to grow up, and life began to beat the creativity out of us.

Our doodles were no longer great works of art. They were just doodles.

Our stories were no longer thrilling and tails. They were just stories.

Our games were no longer exciting. They were just games.

Coincidentally, when we look back on our lives, everything always seemed much simpler.

We had fewer worries and less responsibilities.

The world around us seemed to have changed.

The world didn't change though.

We did.

Obviously.

As we got older, different expectations were put on us.

We were expected to focus on school, and when we left school, we were expected to focus on work.

'Gotta make bank bro'

Creativity, and enjoyment, became secondary persecutes, and even forgotten about all together.

Hands up if you've come home from work and couldn't be bothered to eat, if you were unable to relax, or couldn't be bothered to watch the television. When all you wanted to do was go to bed, so you could get up and do the same shit the next day, all the while praying for the weekend.

Ok, hands down.

That's because, as adults, the way we measure our success (for most of us) is by the size of that paycheck at the end of the month.

But what if we were able to change our thinking?

What if the way we measured our success, was by how 'happy' or 'fulfilled' we were at the end of the month? How much enjoyment we were able to get out of life?

What if I decided to say a month was successful because I wrote 20000 words?

Or improved in the gym?

Or because I rocked my fiancee's world... (maybe that one's a little too out of reach)

What if I worked my 40 hours a week, and didn't think about it for the other 128 hours?

What if I decided that those 40 hours were there to fund my other 128, rather than my 128 was there to recover from those 40, and if my stories were just stories, then it was up to me to spend those 128 hours making them exciting.

Or just find a new job.

I guess that would work too.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page