top of page

You're your own boss! F***ing act like it!


Evening nation.

I wrote something like this a few months ago. Consider this a part 2 if you will... but not really. Its like the second part of a movie franchise that has a few of the same characters but is a totally different story, based on the same set of ideas. Think of the MCU. Same characters, but for the most part self contained stories.

OK. Onward!


You're your own boss. It's time to start acting like it.

When it comes to writing, whether its a full time occupation, or a part time pocket money earner, you have to approach it like an actual job.


On twitter, and talking to my friends, i see it too often. People waiting for their 'muse' and for the feeling to write. What if you had no choice? What if you had to write or you wouldn't make rent this month. You have to approach this like a job. Set up a calendar, mark down all your obligations, and allocate yourself time specifically to write. Don't say that 'you're not in the mood' or that you've developed 'writers block'. Writers block does not exist. And excuses should not be a part of your vocabulary.


Set yourselves time to write. And set yourselves a target. In any working environment, you're given targets that you need to achieve in the time given. So You should do this yourself. Set yourself a weekly target, and treat yourself when you reach that target. You deserve it. take a break to watch your favorite TV show, enjoy a pint and a pizza, or go for a walk. It's up to you. But put a process into place, and stick to it.

For instance, when I write, I go into the office. I shower and dress myself. I'm reasonably smart. I make myself a coffee, sit down at my desk, open up the laptop, and begin to write. I open up a new word document, and for one hour i put one word after another. It doesn't matter what i'm writing about. As long as I'm writing. That first hour isn't important. It gets the juices flowing. I make another coffee, and then i open up the WIP.

That's all you can do. Make yourself get into the habit of writing. Force yourself to put pen to paper and produce content.

Or don't. You're your own boss, only you can tell you what to do.

Later nation

Maloney... OUT!

Recent Posts

See All

New Projects

2 new projects in the pipeline. A recipe book full of tasty, balanced and low calorie meals, perfect for losing a little bodyfat or...

January’s over

January is now done with. So what does that mean? Fuck all in the grand scheme of things. It’s 1/12 of the year done. But other than...

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page