top of page

Its been a while nation...


Its been a while since my last blog post, and this is going to be a short one.

A whole bunch of stuff has happened though. I went to Prague with my woman, came back all engaged and stuff.

Actually, I opened up with the best one. You might as well stop reading now.

There's a bit of a story with the whole question actually, as there usually is. See, I wanted to pop the question on the 16th. Its the day after her birthday, and before mine, so kind of cool and easy to remember in the future. But that didn't happen. Oh boy that didn't happen.

We took the funicular to the top of Petrin Hill which boasts brilliant panoramic views of the city. Dead romantic right? That's what i thought. We go a wee walk through the park whilst I frantically searched for somewhere secluded. Maybe she thought i was looking for somewhere to kill her... i do joke about it a lot. Anyways, we got somewhere deserted, and I managed to get out 'Emma, I lov-' Before she cut me off. With her face scrunched up, and her voice high pitched, she blurted out 'You're no proposing are you?" Well, i was stumped. I thought i had been so sly. As if buying the ring, smuggling it into my case, into the country, and then into the hotel safe wasn't hard enough, i now had this to deal with. What was i supposed to say. Probably, i should have kept going, but I'm a stubborn Yorkshire lad, and in my Yorkshireness i thought to myself 'Well not with that bloody attitude' I stuffed the ring back into my bag, hidden away once more.

That was it for the 16th. I was in a mood. And i stayed in a mood until breakfast the next day.

I picked myself up, dusted myself off, and tried to remember that she hadn't said no, because i never actually got around to asking. She had no idea i was even thinking of asking, and aside from one attempt at a joke from her (she attempts to be funny a lot... she should leave the humor to me) the holiday was going well.

So, the 17th... My birthday, and the last day of our holiday. It had to be today. I don't remember what we did during the day. Its a little bit of a blur. We found a beer cafe (as that seems to be what you do) where drinks were served by train. Novel. And a little dutch courage. I drank, she drank, and I drank some more until it was time for dinner. Half an hours walk away, it was a tavern i found on tripadvisor, and somewhere i was very excited to go. Small, intimate, and brilliant food. (I wont go into too much detail, I'm saving that for a separate post)

After dinner, we took a walk. It was still light, and relatively warm. We walked through Rajská Zahrada park. I could hear a few people, but we were protected from them by trees and shrubs. This had to be it.

"Oi, Em!" I fumbled in my pockets, "This would be a nice place to propose?" "I guess so, why?"

She was still clueless (Why? That wasn't subtle) I stopped walking, and she turned to face me, "Emma, i love you very much. Will you marry me? I'm not getting down on one knee" I burst out, speaking so fast, not wanting to get cut off again. I don't remember her saying yes. I just remember the scream, the smile, and the speed at which she grabbed her new piece of jewelry.

Anyway, that's that story. And I'm back to work. Writing, blogging, and all the less interesting stuff.

Peace out Nation.

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page