top of page

Refining the process


I hear a lot of people talking about their writing process and it got me pondering. See I don't really have a process, not a consistent one anyway. I work during the day, I come home, have something to eat, relax a little, and then I sit down at my desk, or my kitchen table, or on the floor, with my laptop, or a notebook, or a stack of papers, and I write. Its not always good writing, in fact most of it is god awful, but that's what edits are for. Its something that's evolved since the first time I wrote anything, but then again, my writing has evolved since the first time I wrote anything, so saying you have a process is just narrow minded. Is that the right term? narrow minded? small minded? short sighted? One of those. I think the thing that annoys me most about this, is when a newbie writer (and i think this applies to all writers, or at least the vast majority of them) hear that a successful writer did a certain thing when they wrote their breakthrough book, like perhaps J.K.Rowling lathed herself up in raw honey and danced through a field of posies high on cough syrup before she even thought about sitting down to the first harry potter book then that must be what it takes to be successful. Now, while that does sound like a fun thing to do on a Friday night, J.K. probably didn't do it, and if she did it had nothing to do with her writing.

Anyway, this is something that bothered me since my mom first asked 'Oh you're a writer. Whats your process?" and i had to reply "I don't really have one" so I'm glad i got this chance to have a little rant.

Later folks.

Recent Posts

See All

New Projects

2 new projects in the pipeline. A recipe book full of tasty, balanced and low calorie meals, perfect for losing a little bodyfat or...

January’s over

January is now done with. So what does that mean? Fuck all in the grand scheme of things. It’s 1/12 of the year done. But other than...

Commentaires


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page