top of page

Jason Mangoes, Wedding rings and Holidays


It has been a busy week for me nation. I went to Glasgow with the misses to see Jason Manford, bought a very overpriced ring, and began researching honeymoons and holidays.

But before we get started with that, here's a quick update on the WIP.

Right, so I'm about halfway toward my final target word count, when I suddenly realize I've gone wayyy away from the story that i planned out, none of my characters are where i want them to be, and their story arcs have stopped being arcs and are more like overlapping waves and scribbles that go all over the place.

Ok.

Not an issue right?

Not really.

Its only the first draft or something like that (maybe the fourth draft by this point). Do i go back, delete and rewrite? No! I god damn do not do that!

There's some good stuff in there, amidst the bad, so I replan their character arcs, figure out how to get them all together, and push forward. Get rid of what doesn't work later on right? RIGHT!

Ok, back with today's scheduled programming.

Last weekend, me and my pet woman traveled up to Glasgow for the afternoon/evening. The intention was to go and see Jason Manford on his 'Muddle Class' tour. Now, I think he's pretty funny to begin with, but after a few beers I found him particularly hilarious, although I'm not going to go into a bunch of detail, because I'm not particularly funny and the jokes will fall flat on their faces.

This wasn't the only thing we did though.

We went up early for a late lunch or early dinner... how can you tell the difference? Like, when's the cutoff point. When does lunch become dinner? Does it really matter? Nahhhh, I guess not.

But we arrived too early for our reservation. Ok i thought. No harm done. Go for a drink, or a coffee, or something. My sneaky woman however, had other plans. Plans on how to separate me from my money.

There's this snicket in Glasgow city center that is just one long walkway full of jewelers.

'lets just go take a look' she says,

'see what we want' she says,

Yep, thats fine. About a year to go 'till we say the 'I do's', Lets have a quick look at some wedding bands before dinner. No harm, no fowl. We do a little window shopping, speak to a couple of sales ladies, and would you have guessed it? We walked away with two god damn wedding bands. Now I've got to take care of this piece of tin for a whole year.

But enough about that. That's wedding planning. And that's Emma's domain.

My area of expertise is organizing fantastic holidays, and so that's what I'm doing.

The Honeymoon.

I've only started researching this week, because it's only this week that I've wanted to, and whilst Emma has to talk to venue's, florists, photographers, and whatever else you have to do, i get to look at hiking tours, wine tastings, lavish hotels, nice restaurants and a whole lot of other fun activities. Mine is so much easier. And so much more fun!

(I'm looking at Canada, so if anyone has any suggestions feel free to mail me and I'll be forever grateful)

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page