top of page

Balance is key, but give yourself a break


Alrighty nation! 

So I’ve been neglecting the website and the whole writing ‘career’ lately. But I’ve got a good reason... or I like to say I do. 

I plan everything, put it all in my calendar, and usually I knock everything out as and when I need to, but lately, and especially this past week, it doesn’t matter what I do to try and push myself, I can’t get shit done.

I go to work, I come home, and then I zone out in front of the tv. I haven’t written, haven’t studied, or I’ve skipped the gym. I haven’t even been bothered to make myself a cup of coffee (which as a writer is my favourite thing to do) 

I’d like to say it’s because I’m so focussed on my actual paying day job, but that isn’t the case (I work in retail and smash it without much effort) 

I have realised that this happens every few months however, and I’ve come to a conclusion. I push myself hard, trying to balance so much most of the time, especially on my day off, that I don’t get much rest, and eventually crash. Then I punish myself for crashing and not doing anything. 

It’s ok to zone out though. It’s ok to not focus on anything and to give yourself a break. And you shouldn’t feel bad about it. I fact you should relish this. So what if I don’t want to do anything. Who cares? 

Am I able to pay the bills? 

Yes! 

Does the car have fuel?

Yes!

Can I afford the occasional beer?

Always!

So I need a little break? 

That’s fine. 

We all need to take time for ourselves every now and then, and if I want to come home from work, crack open a can and play xBox, that’s ok. 

As long as I don’t let that take over, that’s fine! 

Anyway guys, I’m going to try to write more posts. I’ve begun work on an Epic Fantasy that I want to send off to agents and publishers and do this whole thing properly, so look forward to updates on that. 

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page