top of page

Love Island who?


Love Island who?

While the rest of the country seems to be fawning over Love Island I feel alone. I can’t be the only one who’s not been sucked in by the skimpy bikinis and bulging muscles of the cast… so many muscles.

No, I’ve been sucked in by a different show completely.

House of Cards

How have I never seen this show before? Emma has been preaching about it for years, telling me I should watch it. That it’s fantastic. I didn’t believe her. She usually has such bad taste in television. But on this (rare) occasion, she has been right. I started watching it the beginning of this week, season one, more to shut her up than anything else. But I’m addicted.

One week ago, I started on season one, I’m now half way through season four.

I love it. Maybe it’s because of what happened in America a few months ago, or what happened in Britain a few weeks ago, but I love the politics. The backroom deals, the threats and the rivalling egos. Its brilliant.

I like it for the same reasons I liked Dexter. Francis Underwood, played by Kevin Spacey, is a highly intelligent, highly driven badass. When people get in the way of his (or his wife’s) he crushes them, and when that isn’t enough, he kills them. Badass. Not very presidential, but badass none the less.

And the constant fourth wall breaking. Giving little insights into the mind of Frank Underwood. Its brilliant. I’m watching an episode right now, where Frank is on the phone to one of the US Mayors, where he breaks away from the conversation, and speaks directly to the camera, “The problem with common sense is that it’s so… common” He hates weakness, and stupidity, and the inability of others to see outside the box, and his desire to use these to manipulate others is shown every time he talks to us.

Would I want a man like that in charge of my country?

Hell no! he’s vicious, two faced, unpredictable, and stubborn. With a few moral’s he’d probably be a very good leader, but as it is, I’m perfectly happy watching him parade around on Netflix grinding others into the dirt.

I’ll leave you with Love Island. I’m happy in the Underwoods School of Badassery

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page