top of page

You are your own boss, so act like it!


Happy weekend nation.

So, this past week I’ve been doing something different. I’ve approached my writing in a different way, and it was after a post I saw on twitter. “You’re your own boss, so act like it” I realised that I’ve been slacking, as I’m sure we all do occasionally. I’ve not been on myself to produce content, and I’ve namby pambying about. So, I’m acting different. I’ve got a schedule.

Yep

That’s right

An actual schedule to work toward. I’ve also set up my den as an office. I’ve set it up as a place to write, instead of where I play my Xbox and sometimes write stuff down. And you know what? Its working! Who knew? Instead of setting up shop wherever I might be sitting at the time, be it the living room, the kitchen, or the bedroom, I go to the office with a mug of coffee, and I don’t leave until I’ve finished my target.

I’ve also stopped putting the TV on in the background. It doesn’t stay in the background, and I end up watching it (it’s taken me a couple of years to realise this). Instead I’ve got the radio on. It breaks up the silence, and it’s not distracting. Win win right.

You’d love my den. It’s a paradise. But it isn’t finished yet. There’s still more stuff to buy. I want a different desk for instance. Now there’s nothing wrong with the desk I have. Its white, like the walls. But it’s boring. I’ve seen one in next. It’s made from glass. Cool, right? Although then I couldn’t hide things in the draws… Emma don’t look in my draws.

Off topic.

It’s tough pushing yourself to work I realise. At my day job, even though I’m in charge of my team, and must push myself there as well as push others, I still have a boss, and if I don’t meet targets he comes down on me. But this is different, if I don’t hit targets at home who is there to get on at me? Just me.

But that’s the difference between success and failure I guess. The ability to push yourself further and further. And that’s what I’m trying to remember.

Anyway nation. That’s my wee update.

Until next week

Ciao for now.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page