top of page

A weekend away


WadUp nation

WadUp. That’s cool, right? That’s how the cool kids speak? I dunno. I’ve never been cool.

Woa, that’s a new record. Digression on the second line of the post. Or first line? I don’t know, I haven’t edited yet, but it’s pretty early on wherever it may end up, unless I’ve taken it out completely? But I probably won’t. That’s a whole lot of work, and I’m not fond of editing. If I had the money, I’d just get someone else to do it for me, but I don’t, so I won’t.

Right, on with the show.

The weather has been glorious over this past weekend. Which was good, because we had already booked a weekend away in St. Andrews, and new places are always better in the sun. It was our anniversary weekend (our being myself and Emma, not myself and you) but its our first anniversary since buying a house, which means we have no money. Well, that’s not true, we have money, but it has to go on the mortgage and food and all those other things that my mom used to take care of and I had no idea existed until last year. Well, I knew food existed, obviously, I just didn’t realise people expected you to actually pay for it. what the hell?

Ok, that’s the last digression.

Probably.

We travelled up on the Friday afternoon, and checked into our bed and breakfast around five o’clock in the evening. The drive across wasn’t uneventful. With forty miles to go, I nearly ran out of petrol, and travelled at the most conservative pace of fifteen miles an hour for about twenty minutes until finding a petrol station. Emma was fuming.

That night we went out for dinner, had a couple of beers and retired back to the room relatively early.


St. Andrews is a small town, and its relatively easy to see the whole place in half a day. First thing we did was walk to the golf course, to see this bridge. When Emma said that it was a famous bridge, I was expecting… well something better than this.


But that was it. Anyway, we carried on through the golf course, all the way though. There were plenty of golfers there, but no other walkers, leading me to believe we shouldn’t have been there. But we were, so we powered on, eventually making it out, and at the end of a beach known to the locals as the beach. Its roughly two miles along the sea front from the estuary back into St Andrews, but the weather was nice, and the walk was fun. We people-watched the entire way back, and Emma made friends with a very excited dog, who happily gave her its ball. She throws like a girl I found out.

We arrived back in the town at around lunch time, but thanks to a hearty breakfast I wasn’t hungry (and I am always hungry) so skipping lunch, we explored. First, wandering through the university buildings. We talked about the royals, about our time at uni, and about the amount of people running. So many people out running. Not like when I was at uni. No one ran there.


Next was the harbour, and the ruined church. Like the rest of the town, it was small, but lovely. The church gave me an idea for the setting of my most recent WIP, but I won’t go into that too much.

So, we walked through the town, and I began mentally writing about the new town in my world St. Andes (not very creative)

We carried on wandering the town, people watching, until we were hungry, when we decided to get dinner. Sadly, there isn’t much I can talk about when it comes to dinner. We went to Nando’s, and everybody’s been to Nando’s. And I had the closest runner up to chicken and pasta. Chicken and Rice.

Even with the weekend away, I lost a pound and a half this week. That’s only three pounds away from target now for me. I can smash that in one week.

WooHoo.

Ok ladies and gents, till next week.

Ciao

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page