top of page

Our first house...


What a bloody nightmare! I tells thee ladies and gents, applying for a mortgage, as a first time buyer with less than no clue (does that make it a negative clue?) has been the most stressful time of my life to date. Now granted, I've lead a pretty cushy life. Up until now the most terrifying thing I've done is a Scottish girl (lol. That's a sex joke)

I moved in with our lass and her parents a couple of months ago, with plans to save and save until around September when we'd then begin to seriously look.

that was the plan.

It was my first weekend off after starting my new job, so Emma decided we'd have a day out. We went for a nice cooked breakfast, and then to Troon, where there are currently two housing developments going up. Just for inspiration she said, It'll be fun she said. And it was. The two show homes were way over any kind of imaginable budget, which was fine, because we're not looking to buy right now. But then we saw the perfect house. They had nearly finished building, and it ticked all the boxes. Three bed, en-suite in the master, downstairs toilet, nice sized garden and a decent sized kitchen. And the real kicker? it qualified for Help-To-Buy. Well that was it. It was only the second house we have ever viewed together, and we loved it. Even after waiting a week, discussing it with our respective parents and reviewing it, the house (and the area) were bloody perfect.

So four months ahead of schedule, and obviously not properly prepared, we put our offer in, and waited. Every day expecting the bank to come back to us. And every day they didn't we got more and more frustrated.

Why is it taking so long? Emma asked me.

In truth it wasn't taking long at all, in fact we were travelling much faster than the banks timescale predicted,

Why is it going so fast? was the next worry.

I had no bloody clue. The gods are smiling on us? They don't usually, its a nice change.

Anyway, that's what has been going on in my life recently. Its taken up every waking thought, and a couple of sleeping ones too.

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page