top of page

Things people say when they find out you're in a long distance relationship


Ok, this is something that’s been on my mind for a while now, well just over two years really. Long distance relationships. Do they work? Or are they doomed to fail as the internet (and my friends/family) keep telling me.

  • How do you cope not seeing each other so often?

Every time someone hears your significant other lives five hours (or four and a half if you drive quickly) away, and you only see them every other weekend, it baffles them how a relationship can survive only seeing each other this often. Well for me, the answers easy. That’s only slightly less than we’d see each other if we lived close, or even together. She works mornings, leaves her house for work by six and isn’t home till four, does that Monday to Friday. I work evenings, twelve till eight, and every other weekend, so the only free time we both get together is those two weekends a month while I’m not working. It may seem like a weird way of looking at it, but that’s the reality.

Ok, next question.

  • Does it get difficult? All the traveling?

Short answer. No. Long answer. Why would it? You have to be somewhere, why not on the road going to see a lady I care very much about. If I wasn’t going there I’d only be going somewhere else. Does it get expensive? Not really, petrol’s relatively cheap, and if I didn’t want to drive the public transport system isn’t as bad as everybody makes out. Ok, it does attract some weirdo’s, but that’s not the trains fault. That’s because such people can't be trusted behind a wheel and are forced to use the aptly named ‘peasant wagons’.

  • What if it doesn’t work out?

What if it doesn’t? Couldn’t that be said of any relationship? I mean sure, if you’re just starting out and it’s a long distance affair then yea, the effort might not seem worth it and the relationship will fall flat on its face. Any relationship runs the risk of not working out, not being one simply because it might fail, well that’s just stupid.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page