top of page

Nights out you'd rather forget


I'm sure you’ve all been there, you go out, have a good time, and the next day you’re waking up in a strange place, wondering how in the hell you got here, who that is lying next to you, and why they’re not breathing. I know I have, and the overwhelming relief when you do finally realise they’re alive. There’s been plenty of ‘hangover’ style days, especially while at uni, during fresher’s week, and then again at refreshers week the next year. Worse than those nights, or mornings, are those ones where you wake up in your own bed, you’re a little groggy of course, but your memories basically intact. You might skip out on a few details, but you know where you were, and what you were doing most of the time. Well this happened to me. Went on a first aid course, and after passing the course went out for a quick bevy before catching the train back home. There were three of us from the one workplace, and if had remained the three of us all would have been good, but one of us got called in to lock up, which was the beginning of the end. One led to two led to three led to us going full Sopranos ‘salute’ everything, pissing about and in our head, owning the town.

Then there’s that next day. Woke up in my own bed, looked around at my clothes on the floor ‘I’ll have to pick those up’ but that was the least of my worries. See when you remember nothing, things eventually come back, but the details remain a mystery, the thing about remembering most things, is that those details come streaming back eventually, and details make everything worse. Just because without them you were an arse, but those details make you realise how much of a complete arsehole to everyone you met you were. Who knew that adult juice turned people into loud, argumentative and obnoxious arseholes?

But even worse than all of this was heading into work the next day, hungover to hell, walking around as though there was a large dark cloud floating over my head. My mate, child that he is, had to go home an hour into his shift, leading to a long barrage of questions that just put the stomping herd of elephants in my head on overdrive. Anyway, that was my Thursday. Bloody shite.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Let me slide into your emails

#NoNudes

Email

bottom of page